Categories
lifestyle Uncategorized

23 Going On 83

I’m coming to the realisation that I’m slowly becoming my granny. I don’t mean like medically because I’m getting older and she’s older; I mean like in the past year, so many things that I’ve started doing are things that she does. Things aren’t really typically associated with 23 year olds, shall we say.

Not that I’m complaining – my granny’s a geg, like. And I actually like my lifestyle (even if you think it’s questionable). I’m very content in my elderly ways.

Happy Young Woman Or Girl Waking Up With Rising Sun In Early Morning.  Smiling Female Cartoon Character Awakening At Stock Vector - Illustration  of joyous, female: 123128066

Sleeping Pattern

I don’t know WHAT has happened my sleeping routine in the past year and a half, but I wake up every morning at like 6am. Not even my granny gets up that early. I don’t mean like 6am if I’m working; I mean 6am regardless of whether I’m working, off or on holiday (well, staycation). To be fair, I actually really like getting up early – like I get up, have breakfast, go for a walk and get a shower before anyone else wakes up, it’s class. And I just feel like I’ve so much more ~time~.

Do you think if I’m up and about from 6am that I’m gonna be awake past 10pm? Honey, no.  So, up at the crack of dawn and in bed before it’s even properly dark outside (in Summer, anyway) – check.

Gaeilge Gaelic Sticker by Irish Glow for iOS & Android | GIPHY

Learning Irish

Okay, so not a typical ‘granny’ trait, but I never said my granny was a typical 83 year old, did I?

Basically, my granny started teaching herself Irish when she was 70 – without the internet or apps might I add – and she recently got her Gold Fáinne, which means you’re a fluent Irish speaker. Isn’t that class?

I always wished I spoke Irish but made zero attempt to learn, and then I figured that you know what? If my granny can teach herself from scratch at 70, then I can pick up my ~very~ basic Irish after 10 years. So I did. Agus sílim go bhfuil mé ag déanamh go maith (má deirim é mo fhéin).

So, me and my granny are both learning Irish and ‘study’ it every day. I’m hoping that one day I’ll be more like her and have my Gold Fáinne, too (preferably before I’m 83).

Woman Reading GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

Reading – a LOT

In lockdown last year, I discovered that I actually love reading. Who’d have thought?

Me and my granny both read loads. She gets her books from her local library, and I buy mine all second-hand online. But, guess who signed up for her library membership this week? Mise.

You can read books and eBooks for FREE (and without the dodgy PDF download sites) and you don’t have to worry about the clutter and space that buying the books takes up? You don’t have to sort them into ‘keep’ and ‘sell’ piles, then go on Ziffit or Music Magpie and send them back. Beautiful.

I don’t know why I never even considered joining the library before (although it being closed in the pandemic and me not reading pre-pandemic might be something to do it) – my granny was really on to something there.

Free, Printable Coloring Pages for Adults

Colouring In

I mean, are you really surprised I colour in? Don’t I just ~seem~ like the type?

I’ve like six colouring in books and I’m not even ashamed. I’ve probably got a lot more than my granny, and she’s the one who I first got the idea to try it from. The student has become the master.

Reading and colouring in pretty much got me through the first lockdown. Every day I sat for like an hour colouring in mandalas in the same pastel colours – either pink, yellow and green or purple, green, pink and blue – and it really helped me just switch off. Like, when you’re colouring in, you’re not even focussed on or thinking about anything apart from what colour to put where or staying inside the lines. Plus, it keeps you off your phone.

I’m moving onto my cacti and fruit books now, how FUN.

Tai Chi GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

Tai Chi

Now, I’m not gonna lie, I haven’t actually started this yet, but I’ve downloaded the app and all, so like, I have intentions.

My granny’s done Tai Chi for years and years, like, and I never had any interest in it. But, I was reading a book and one of the characters started doing it so I took a notion. I was like; hmm I wonder if it’s any good for young(er) people? Quick Ecosia search and apparently it is. (The character started drawing and painting and all too, so I took a notion for that as well, but remembered I have 0 artistic ability).

So, I downloaded a wee app to give it a go. Apparently Tai Chi’s really good for your mental and physical health, and it’s not too intense or strenuous (read: no burpees), so like, why not? I’ve no idea if or when I’ll try it but I actually do want to. Ask me how it went and pressure me into it.

Dancing Granny GIFs | Tenor

I know what you’re thinking: Library membership, colouring in, up at 6am and bed by 10pm, learning Irish and Tai Chi – wow isn’t she FUN?! You can see why I titled this ’23 going on 83′, like.

Then again, maybe I’m not turning into my granny. Maybe my granny’s turning into a 23 year old. I think that would suit both our self-esteems better.

Leave a comment