Categories
lifestyle

Career Paths Aren’t Straight

This week, it’ll be exactly three years since I started my placement during uni. Mad. In 2018, I walked into that office not having a clue what was ahead of me that year, or any year after that. Here I am in 2021, still working for that company, and still unsure.

In the three years I’ve worked for my employer, I’ve had three different job roles across two sister-companies. After my placement ended, I started working part-time in a different role, which I did until the pandemic happened. Then, since last April, I’ve been working in another one.

It just got me thinking about how these ‘career paths’ we hear so much about aren’t always straight. Sometimes we’ve no idea where we’re going or where we’ll end up.

How to Choose the Right Career Path | Ashford University

My career journey so far hasn’t been what I’ve imagined. I didn’t expect to change roles, and I didn’t think I’d be doing anything related to what I am now. I always just thought that you got a job, worked there for like five years, maybe left if you fancied a change, and did something similar but slightly different at another company. Repeat until you retire.

I was not only wrong, I was clearly delusional. But, I’m glad that I was. I’ve really enjoyed what I’ve done so far. I’ve gotten to try different things and get an idea of what I like and what I’m good at. I’ve gained experience, developed a variety of skills and gotten a glimpse at what ‘else’ there is.  And I think that’s the way it should be.

How to Manage Your Career - Business Guides - The New York Times

We all know the over-used metaphor “climbing the career ladder”, but I don’t think it’s accurate. ‘Career Ladder’ implies that career progression is linear and you can see the next steps to follow. All you have to do is just keep going up in one direction.

But, that’s not what careers are like. They’re less like a ladder and more like those Christmas tree shaped climbing frames you get in playgrounds. You can go straight up from the bottom; go up diagonally; take side-way steps; realise you’ve gone the wrong way and take a step back down; or just chill in the middle if you don’t want to go further.

Yes, it’s a messy metaphor. It’s not as straightforward or simple as a ‘ladder’; but neither are careers. There isn’t just one way to go and you don’t have to keep going up that route if you don’t like where it’s taking you. You can hop off or change course on the way up. But, I don’t think we’re told that enough.

Thinking points for career bliss – Physics World

Finishing uni, starting a graduate job (or even getting one) and then staying there for 5-10 years, whilst continuously climbing up the ranks and getting promoted; before going to another firm to do something similar until you’re 60 is not the standard. And I think we need to stop pretending it is.

I think we need to stop telling young people that it “looks bad” if you’ve had several previous or unrelated jobs; it “looks bad” if you have a gap in your CV; and it “looks bad” if you don’t stay for longer than a year in a role. How is anyone meant to figure out what they want to do without experiencing different things?

Yes, some people find their dream role or ideal employer early on, and decide that they don’t want to do anything or work anywhere else. I know that I’ve been and am extremely lucky to be in the position that I’m in. But, not everyone is.

CAREER PATHS: HOW TO FIND YOURS - Jobacle.com

I just think that we need to stop thinking or pretending that there’s one type of career path – one that’s straight and set out for us and one we have to follow once we’ve started, like a ladder. If we’re going to be working for like 50 years (grim thought), why not encourage people to take the path that lets them choose their route?

So, don’t climb that ladder; climb the Christmas tree climbing frame instead.

Leave a comment